University Events Streaming Video
Events in the categories below are available to view via streaming video:
Center for Historical Research
Contact
Janis Winn '86, BS, MLS
315 792 3351
1600 Burrstone Road
Utica, NY 13502
Send email to:
or - Ask the Archivist at:
Location
The University Archives are located in room L130 on the lower level of the Frank E. Gannett Memorial Library (across from the IITS Helpdesk)
Did You Know...?
Did You Know:
1942 - Dr. Robert Willard of Syracuse University organized and directed three university extension centers - one in Utica NY.
May 7, 1945 - Syracuse University was willing to establish a two year college in Utica - if building found.
July 10, 1946 - The Plymouth Church located on Oneida Square in Utica, NY agreed to lease the church house to Utica College.
Source: Pioneering Generations: The Utica College Story - J. Behrens
Policies
The University Archives collection is governed by the following policies:
Utica University Archives Collection Development Policy (in progress)
Utica University Record Retention Policy
If you have materials that you are interested in donating to the Archives, donations are accepted in accordance with the Gifts and Donations Policy found at:
Utica University Archives
Utica University Archives 
The Utica University Archives, located in the lower level of the Frank E. Gannett Memorial Library (L130), contain permanent valuable records of Utica University and its history.
Records include but are not limited to: the founding of Utica College by Syracuse University; property information about the Oneida Square campus; papers of past deans, presidents and Boards of Trustees; college publications; visual images such as films, photographs, and videos; newspaper clippings; memorabilia; commencement materials; yearbooks, and the COVID-19 Collection.
In 2022, the Archives acquired the Raymond Simon Institute Collection. This vast collection consists of artifacts and memorabilia, books authored by the esteemed professor, personal papers, recordings, photographs an array of plaques and numerous publications.
Recordings of many campus and University related events are archived under the Streaming Videos section of the Library’s web site.
Researchers may view archived editions of the student newspaper, The Tangerine.
The Archives are accessible to members of the University community by appointment at archives@utica.edu
Photos from the Archives
[Click photos to enlarge]
Although the Computer Science major was proposed at Utica College in December 1977 (45 years ago), some students were introduced to the Univac (Universal Automatic Computer) in a classroom/lab in the 1950’s, enrolling in an Electronic Data Processing for Businesses course.
See the photo archive link below for more.
Links
Please use the links below to access other sources of helpful information:
Photo Archive - Utica University
The Central New York Library Resources Council: http://clrc.org/
If you are interested in making a monetary donation to the Archives:
Hours
The Archives are open to Utica University students, faculty, staff and alumni as well as those outside the University community by appointment.
Please use the contact information above, and we will gladly accommodate your needs.
Mission Statement
The core mission of the Utica University Archives is to support the primary education mission of Utica University and Gannett Library. Its core mission is:
- To appraise, collect (either by transfer, donation, or active solicitation), organize, describe, make available, and preserve records and information of historical, legal, and administrative value to Utica University
- To provide adequate facilities for the retention and preservation of such material
- To provide information services when needed that assist in the operation of the University
- To serve research and scholarship by making records available to members of the University and public community
- To promote knowledge and understanding of the origins, aims, programs, activities, and achievements of the University, and the development of these aims and programs
- To implement archives management by formulating a policy that will facilitate and ensure the collection and preservation of records and documentary materials
Archivist
Utica University
1600 Burrstone Road
Utica, NY 13502-4892
(315) 792-3351
jcwinn@utica.edu