From History to Fiction - ENG 518: Find Articles

• A quick way to find articles is to use the Articles option on the library homepage.
• A better way to search for articles is to browse Databases by topic, and search directly within your subject area.
• In the databases, choose the advanced or guided searches (usually 3 lines) to help you correctly format your search.
• Use OR between your search terms to broaden the search to include any of the terms. 
• Use AND between your search terms to narrow the search to include all the terms.
• Find full text within the databases in html or pdf format.
• Use the Check for Full Text to link to full text found outside of the database.
• Ask a Librarian if you need further help!  

MLA International Bibliography | Tutorial
Journal articles, books and dissertations in literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts 

Project Muse | Tutorial
Scholarly collection of articles on the humanities, arts and social sciences 

JSTOR Arts and Sciences  | Tutorial
Now with E-Books. Core research and society publications in the humanities and social sciences 

Philosopher's Index | Tutorial
Scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy 

Oxford English Dictionary
The OED Online. The preeminent English language dictionary based on 'historical' principles 

JSTOR Arts and Sciences | Tutorial
Includes E-books! Especially strong in history and related areas, JSTOR is a scholarly, full text journal archive. JSTOR covers core research and scholarly publications in the humanities and social sciences

Academic Search Complete
A broad based interdisciplinary college level database but with considerable amount of historical coverage

U.S. History Collection
Covers magazine and journal articles about current events and general United States history. Suitable for beginning students as well as the more advanced researcher

World History Collection
Covers magazine and journal articles about current events and general world history . Suitable for beginning students as well as the more advanced researcher

Oxford African American Studies Center
Oxford University Press titles. Extensive collection of historical, biographical and scholarly resources in African American and Africana studies 

War & Terrorism Collection
Periodical collection for beginning students of military science, history, social science, as well as analysts and risk management professionals

Project Muse | Tutorial
Scholarly full text e-journal collection with an integrated search engine that provides access to titles in the humanities, arts and social sciences 

Facts on File | World News Digest
Good for background research on current affairs 

New York Times Historical
The New York Times (1851-2009) historical edition provides full text, full page, and article-level images  

Military & Government Collection
Collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content

ArticleFirst
Index of articles taken from the table of contents pages of journals. No full text. Use the E-Journal Portal to check for possible access 

GPO Government Printing Office & GPO Access
Indexing and/or access to the wide range of governmental publications, many of interest to historians. The GPO Access site now offers full text for many once hard-to-find government publications