Skip to main content

Interdisciplinary Research in Humanities

Online Course: Interdisciplinary Humanities

Search Tips

  • Use library databases
  • Libraries are not Google!
  • Test different keywords
  • Be ready to revise searches
  • Stumped? Try Ask Us 24/7 
    Or Email: refere@utica.edu

Here's an example:
Google Search:
What are the pros and cons of genetic cloning?
Library Keywords: benefit, advantages, pros, negative, disadvantage, harm, genetic cloning, human cloning, clone, genetics.

DOI? What is it and why do I need it?

A DOI (digital object identifier) is a unique address for items like journal articles, a conference paper, or chapters.  Look for the ow the "doi" provided: doi:10.1007/s10067-006-0283-5.

Not all articles have doi's. In the MLA Handbook for Citation (8th ed.), the doi --  if available -- is preferred over a URL

Open Access

Databases

Recent, peer-reviewed journal articles are essential for graduate research. Your instructor will demand them. 

The best, effective, and reliable articles are from library databases, as below.

Project MUSE    How to video

Scholarly collection of articles on the humanities, arts and social sciences. Project Muse is a full text, word by word, search of all content.  Although less expansive than JSTOR (below) it is often much easier to get good results. 

JSTOR Arts and Sciences  How to video in preparation

JSTOR is NOT easy to use. It is a comprehensive, retrospective database. Its strength is word by word searching of all texts. Refining searches for relevance is essential. Recommended, detailed guide on Advanced search features.

Literature Resource Center    How to video

Ask you instructor about using this resource. A lot of content is basic and background information., directed more at undergraduates than graduate students. 

MLA International Bibliography    How to video

"MLA" is the major database in the field. Articles, books, dissertations in literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts. Although MLA does not use standard subject headings, it does have powerful features and is considered the best graduate level database for literature

Philosopher's Index     How to video

Scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.  Almost entirely scholarly and often advanced coverage.

Academic Search Complete    How to video

A huge, broad based, multidisciplinary library database in all fields  You can filter for academic articles. Includes social sciences, humanities, and science/ technology.

Academic One File    How to video

  • Another large, broad based resource. Filter for peer-reviewed articles from the leading sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

    See box below for more resources.
    Note the Library does not have specific databases for Art (Use Academic Search Complete), Music (Project Muse), History (JSTOR), etc.

Other Databases

There maybe other subject area databases related to your research.  For example, History or Social Sciences.

Google Scholar: UC Library

UC Library has a special instance of Google Scholar,  a search engine for academic items  

Google Scholar at UC Library

To see if Utica College has an article, look for Check for Full Text to the right of an entry.

Google Scholar Advanced Features

How to video

Set Your Preferences for Google Scholar

  • Before you search use Settings to set up on "Find It" functions. 
  • Search Utica College in the Library Links box and make sure box is checked           
  • WorldCat - set default for off-campus access to "Library Search"
  • Select preferred citation manager
  • If you use RefWorks, choose your option in the bibliography section
  • Then Save Preferences