Skip to Main Content
Historical Newspapers Online
- Alabama Civil War & Reconstruction Newspapers -- Free access to newspapers published in Alabama from 1861 to 1877.
- Arizona Historical Digital Newspapers -- Provides access to historical newspapers for the years 1880-1922 when the geographical area acquired statehood.
- California Digital Newspaper Collection -- The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research at the University of California, Riverside.
- Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection -- A service of the Colorado State Library, the Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection currently represents nearly 200 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado primarily from 1859 to 1923.
- Connecticut Newspaper Project -- This collection includes a sampling of newspapers covering various towns, villages, and topics ranging from 1821-1947.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers -- Library of Congress website providing free access to many American newspapers ranging from 1836 to 1922.
- Digital Library of Georgia -- Sharing Georgia's history and culture.
- Florida Digital Newspaper Library -- Provides access to the news and history of Florida.
- Georgia Historic Newspapers -- A free archive for public use that includes over one million Georgia newspaper pages between 1786 and 1986.
- Google News Archive -- An alphabetized title list of various digitized newspapers with sporadic coverage in the 18th, 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.
- Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections -- Hosted by the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library at the University of Illinois, collections include digital facsimiles of newspapers and trade journals in a variety of fields.
- Indiana's Digital Historic Newspaper Program -- Provides free, online access to high quality digital images of Indiana's historic newspapers.
- Kentucky Newspaper Collection -- Hosted by the University of Kentucky, the Historic Kentucky Newspaper Collection is comprised of historic newspapers, images, collections, maps, books, and oral histories.
- Maryland State Archives Online Digitized Newspapers -- The Digital Newspapers page is the best way of finding and viewing all of the newspapers that the Maryland State Archives makes available online. Titles are listed alphabetically, along with the dates they were published, question marks appear when exact dates are unknown.
- Michigan Digital Newspapers -- Historic Michigan newspapers available online.
- Minnesota Newspapers Collection -- A small collection of smaller Minnesota newspapers.
- Missouri Digital Newspaper Project -- Missouri historical newspapers via the State Historical Society of Missouri.
- Nebraska Newspapers -- A collaborative site developed by the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and the Nebraska State Historical Society. The collection presents the State's newspapers before 1923 and is a valuable resource covering social, political, and economic viewpoints from the different regions of Nebraska.
- New York Times Historical -- The New York Times historical full edition (1851-2010).
- NYS Historic Newspapers -- The NYS Historic Newspaper project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.
- North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project -- The State Archives of North Carolina completed this project in 2009. Materials include various newspapers ranging from the colonial period to the late 19th century.
- Ohio's Digitized Newspapers -- A collaborative project of the Ohio History Connection and the State Library of Ohio.
- Oklahoma Historical Newspapers -- A gateway to Oklahoma history. Included are newspapers with a date range of nearly 100 years, from the 1840s to the 1920s.
- Oregon Newspapers -- The Historic Oregon Newspapers website provides access to Oregon newspapers published between 1860 and 1922.
- Pennsylvania Historic Newspapers -- This collection of historic newspapers includes incomplete runs of various Pennsylvania state newspapers.
- South Carolina Historic Newspapers -- Freely accessible newspapers since the founding of the state in 1788.
- Texas Digital Newspaper Program -- A collaborative project to represent and preserve Texas history through digitized newspapers that range from 1829 through the present.
- Utah Digital Newspapers -- Hosted at the University of Utah's J. Willard Marriott Library, the Utah Digital Newspapers is one of the largest state newspaper projects in the United States.
- Virginia Chronicle -- A historical archive of Virginia newspapers, covering Virginia and West Virginia.
- Washington Historical Newspapers -- Includes digitized historical newspapers that reflect the attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of Washington State residents during different periods of Washington State history.
- Wyoming Newspaper Project -- This project makes Wyoming's historical newspapers available for educational, research, and genealogical purposes.
