Skip to main content

The New York Times

Quick guide to access and searching The New York Times at UC

Image result for new york times

The Library has several ways to access The New York Times

QUICK TIPS

Combing Open Access with Library Access

A quick way to manage access (beyond your 5 per month at the NYT site):

  • When you find a good article at the NYT site, print out or save it.  
  • In ProQuest NYT just look up the article title (even for today's date)

Example of Headline: 
White House Welcomes College Football Champions
ProQuest search results provide the full text for reference

 

Free Web Version

NYT Today's Paper

The most convenient but limited access is the "free" digital version.  Note only FIVE free articles per month are viewable. Limited NYT archives search

The UC Library provides full text articles (up to date as well as a full archive) from the Library  databases.

We recommend ProQuest National Newspapers NYT covering 2015 to today's paper

Search the New York Times

The Library has several access points and options for the The New York Times.

ProQuest National Newspapers provides the most straightforward entry to full text content.

NOTE: To search the New York Times this way you need a search query or article title, date range., etc.  See below.

 

 

Assistance with The New York Times

The Library can assist you in research using The New York Times online

1. Contact or come by the Library Information Desk, Ask for a librarian for help. Hours Mon - Thursday 9 to 9.  Thursday 9 to 5. Sunday 3 to 9.

2. Send us an email with your information need. refere@utica.edu

3. Late Night/After Hours feel free to chat with a librarian from another library.  AskUs 24/7