Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us 24/7
Online help is available anytime via our AskUs 24/7 chat service:
Subjects: Animal Behavior
, Citation Management Tools
, Citation Styles
, Diversity Information
, Faculty Resources and Services
, Health Studies
, Psych/Child Life
, Social Work
Searching the Biology Literature
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplnary research database with many full-text article.
Current issues and archives of many biology journals.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences
Database of arts and sciences journal, including legacy content and full-text.
Authoritative federal science information from hundreds of government sources.
Database of scientific literature with some free and open access articles.
Search tool for scientific research papers published on the web. Check article titles in the UC Library Catalog/WorldCat Discovery for full-text.
Database of he National Library of Medicine. Check article titles in the UC Library Catalog/WorldCat Discovery for full-text.
UC Library Catalog & WorldCat Discovery
Utica College Library's online catalog; use this to search known citations by title of article.
E-Journal Portal - Find a Journal
Search UC library's online and print journal subscriptions/access.
How can I tell if it's a research article?
Look for these elements in the article:
Academic research articles will almost always include sections with these headings. If you see them, you know you're reading a research article.
If you find a recent Review article, you can check its references list for current Research articles.
How to create an Interlibrary Loan request
Go to the Utica College Library website (located here) and click on Interlibrary Loan.
Click on the Connect to ILLiad button.
Follow the instructions given on the following screen, taking note that if it is your first time logging in, you need to use your Utica College username and password.
Need an Appointment with the Librarian?