Social Work: Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated Bibliographies
An annotated bibliography is a type of student paper in which reference list entries are followed by short descriptions of the work called annotations. Annotated bibliographies can also constitute one element of a research paper in fields that require bibliographies rather than reference lists. Most APA Style guidelines apply to annotated bibliographies.

Your annotated bibliography should start with a title page, just as for an APA style paper.  The second page of your bibliography is where you will begin listing your references and annotations (see sample below).

Figure 9.3 Sample Annotated Bibliography

In general, it is not necessary to cite the work being annotated in the annotation, because the origin of the information is clear through context. However, do include in-text citations if you refer to multiple works within an annotation to clarify the source.

Instructors generally set all other requirements for annotated bibliographies (e.g., number of references to include, length and focus of each annotation). In the absence of other guidance, format an annotated bibliography as follows:
 

• Format and order references in an annotated bibliography in alphabetical order, as you would order entries in a reference list
• Each annotation should be a new paragraph below its reference entry. Indent the annotation 0.5 in. from the left margin, as you would a block quotation
• Do not indent the first line of the annotation
• If the annotation spans multiple paragraphs, indent the first line of the second and any subsequent paragraphs an additional 0.5 in., as you would a block quotation with multiple paragraphs