Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Utica College Archives: Home

UC Events Streaming Video

Policies

The College Archives collection is governed by the following policies:

Utica College Archives Collection Development Policy (in progress)

Utica College Record Retention Policy

If you have materials that you are interested in donating to the Archives, donations are accepted in accordance with the Gifts and Donations Policy found at:

Gift and Donations Policy

Links

Please use the links below to access other sources of helpful information:

The Central New York Library Resources Council: http://clrc.org/

If you are interested in making a monetary donation to the Archives:

Donate here

Did You Know...?

Did You Know:

1942 - Dr. Robert Willard of Syracuse University organized and directed three university extension centers - one in Utica NY.

May 7, 1945 - Syracuse University was willing to establish a two year college in Utica - if building found.

July 10, 1946 - The Plymouth Church located on Oneida Square in Utica, NY agreed to lease the church house to Utica College. 

Source:  Pioneering Generations:  The Utica College Story - J. Behrens

Utica College's 75th Anniversary

   Utica College Archives      

1946 - 2021

 

Celebrating 75 Years of Utica College

The Utica College Archives, located in the lower level of the Frank E. Gannett Memorial Library (L130), contain permanent valuable records of Utica College and its history. 

Records include but are not limited to: the founding of the College by Syracuse University; property information from the Oneida Square campus; papers of deans, presidents and Boards of Trustees; publications; visual images such as films, photographs, and videos; newspaper clippings; memorabilia; commencement materials; yearbooks, and most recently the COVID-19 Collection. Members of the College community are encouraged to submit their COVID-19 experiences as they relate to UC, in digital format, to archives@utica.edu. Certain restrictions may apply. 

Recordings of numerous campus and College-related events are archived under the Streaming Videos section of the Library’s web site.

Researchers may view archived editions of the student newspaper, The Tangerine.

The Archives are accessible to members of the College Community by appointment at archives@utica.edu

Photos

[Click photos to enlarge]

Student Union, Plant Street, c. 1947

First women's dormitory, 16 Watson Place

The Library, formerly Butler's Garage

The library, formerly Butler's Garage

 

Athletics and liberal arts building, Plant Street

Dining hall & little theatre

College hall annex

First administration building

 

Guidance center

Second administration building

 

Plymouth Church

 

Science center

Student union

Pre-fabricated building used as classrooms

 

Kewpee, popular student hangout in Utica

 

Contact

Anne Flynn

315 792 3470

1600 Burrstone Road

Utica, NY 13502

Send email to:

aflynn@utica.edu

or - Ask the Archivist at:

archives@utica.edu

Location

The UC Archives are located in room L130 on the lower level of the Frank E. Gannett Memorial Library (across from the IITS Helpdesk)

Hours

The Archives are open to Utica College students, faculty, staff and alumni as well as those outside the College community by appointment.  

Please use the contact information above, and we will gladly accommodate your needs. 

 

Mission Statement

The core mission of the Utica College Archives is to support the primary education mission of Utica College and Gannett Library.  Its core mission is:

  • To appraise, collect (either by transfer, donation, or active solicitation), organize, describe, make available, and preserve records and information of historical, legal, and administrative value to Utica College
  • To provide adequate facilities for the retention and preservation of such material
  • To provide information services when needed that assist in the operation of the College
  • To serve research and scholarship by making records available to members of the College and public community
  • To promote knowledge and understanding of the origins, aims, programs, activities, and achievements of the College, and the development of these aims and programs
  • To implement archives management by formulating a policy that will facilitate and ensure the collection and preservation of records and documentary materials