Credits
The creation of this guide and all the "behind the scenes" work has been a collaborative project: thanks go to
Deborah Seiselmyer, Lisa Dy, and student assistants Shanice Carter, and Lauren Robinson. Diolch yn fawr iawn.
American Musical Treasure
- The American musical treasure. A Welsh and English hymn and tune book. Y cor-drysor Americanaidd. Sef, emynau yn Gymraeg a Saesneg a thonau yn yr hen nodiant a'r tonic sol-ffa, at wasanaeth y cysegr Cristionogol. Detholedig a chyhoeddedig gan nifer o wein byPublication Date: 1895.Utica, N.Y., T.J. Griffiths,
Welsh Collection (location in the collection unclear)
Microfilm: MN 100.3
No free full text view located.
Cover from Ebay sale
NLW has two ‘editions’ 1891 and 1895. OCLC has limited holders in somewhat confused cataloging. Original edition may have copyright 1887. Also printed in Utica as The Baptist Musical Treasure. Not held by UC Library. See WordlCat catalog information OCLC 30578854.
Not in Welsh Imprints of Central New York (Nassar)
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge for non-profits.
"Anerchiad"
[Anerchiad]
Item on microfilm not represented in UC catalog.
"Anerchiad" appears as a running head on the item as filmed
Copy may have been withdrawn as imperfect or damaged?
May have been published in Oneida, NY?
Not in catalog.
Microfilm: MN 100.4
Not online
Imperfect. Scanned first page.
Unidentified item. See image from scanned copy. No longer in the collection?
May be a page fom an unidentified periodical (Oneida, C.N. handwritten at top of first filmed page)
No identifiable record in OCLC, National Library of Wales, or bibliographic sources examined.
jm
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge for non-profits.
James W Dale
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 107.8
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.hxddd9
National Library of Wales note: Gives fuller title. Originally published in the U.S. 1867 as Classic Baptism. An inquiry into the meaning of the word Βαπτιζω, as determined by the usage of classical Greek writers. For example, see Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/inu.30000007129442
Bible. N.T. Welsh. 1855. Hughes
- Y Testament newydd gyda nodau eglurhaol ar bob adnod, wedi eu detholi, a'u cyfieithu i'r gymraeg, allan o'r esboniadau enwocaf; ond yn benaf o waith Pool, Scott, Guyse, a Doddridge, gan y parch. James Hughes ... yn nghyda holl nodaa cyfeiriol y dywededig byPublication Date: 1855-1856Utica, T.T. Evans
New Testament text with commentary compiled by Hughes.
Welsh Collection
Mcrofilm: MN 103.3
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/uiug.30112087618010
4 vols. In 2, plus extra? Added vols with 1856 date?
P. 56 of The Bible in Wales: a study in the history of the Welsh people. London : H. Sotheran, 1906.
Blodau yr oes ar̕ ysgol
Welsh Collection
MN 104.2
Full text view Hathi Trust v. 1-2: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.32044024079238
Utica, N.Y. : W. Ap Madoc a T. Solomon Griffiths. Hathi Trust copy (from Harvard Library) covers v.1 (1872) and v. 2 (1873). UC cataloging does not indicate holdings.
National Library of Wales: A monthly non-denominational Welsh-language periodical intended for the children of the Welsh Sunday schools in America. Until December 1874 the periodical was jointly edited by William ap Madoc and T. Solomon Griffiths who were succeded by the Calvinist Methodist minister, Morgan Albert Ellis (1832-1901) and the Congregationalist minister and eisteddfodwr Thomas Edwards (Cynonfardd, 1848-1927), who also served as joint-editors. Associated titles: Yr Ysgol (1869-1870).
Samuel Burder
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 105.1
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.hxddc3
Library also has this title in a copy printed in Wales (1837). See https://uclibraryts.on.worldcat.org/external-search?queryString=Defodau+dwyreiniol%3A+yn+cael+eu+cymmwyso+er+egluro+
Free full text view not not located.
Robert Everett
- Caniadau y cysegr : neu bigion o hymnau a salmau : o gyfansoddiad gwahanol awduron : casgledig gan bwyllgor dros Gymanfa Gynulleidfaol C.N byPublication Date: 1855. Ail argraffiadRemsen, N.Y. : Cyhoeddedig gan R. Everett
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 105.2
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.hxdep9
Welsh hymns (Congregational Church). Originally published in Dinbych, 1839?
Robert Everett: Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry.
Morris Roberts: Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry.
Caniadau y cysegr (1866)
- Caniadau y cysegr, neu, Bigion o hymnau a salmau : o gyfansoddiad gwahanol awduronPublication Date: 1866.Trydydd argraffiad
Remsen [N.Y.] : R. Everett,.
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 105.3
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.hxdep9
Welsh hymns (Congregational Church). Originally published in Dinbych, 1839?
Thomas Charles
- Geiriadur Ysgrythyrol: yn cynnwys arwyddocad geiriau anghyfiaith arferedig yn yr Usgrythyrau byPublication Date: 1863Utica, N.Y., E.E. Roberts
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: Vol. 1 MN 106.2 & Vol. 2 MN 106.3
Hathi Trust, vol. 2: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.32044090290347
UC Catalog has 1863 for both volumes. National Library of Wales has this printing.
Full text view,Hathi Trust, vol. 2:http://http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.32044090290347
Thomas Charles
- Hyfforddwr yn egwyddorion y grefydd Gristionogol. byPublication Date: 1831Utica [N.Y.] : Northway & Porter, 1831
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 107.1
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/uc1.b4922413
Thomas Charles. Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry.
Thomas Charles
- Geiriadur Ysgrythyrol : yn cynnwys arwyddocad geiriau anghyfiaith, ynghyd ag enwau ac hanesion yr amrywiol genedloedd, teyrnasoedd, a dinasoedd, y crybwyllir am danynt yn yr Ysgrythyrau : hefyd, eglurhad byr ar holl brif byngciau crefydd ... byPublication Date: 1844-45Utica : Argraphwyd, ac ar werth, gan Evan E. Roberts, 2 heol Seneca
Welsh Collection
Microfilm (appears to contain only 1863): MN 106.2 & 106.3
No full text view. Only 1863 version found. See "About" tab
National Library of Wales has a copy of this 1844-45 printing/edition.
Thomas Charles. Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry.
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge for non-profits.
Church of Christ (Utica, N.Y.)
- Eglwys Crist ymgynulledig ar Broadway, Utica, N.Y., yn gynwysedig o aelodau wedi eu bedyddio ar broffes o'u hedifeirwch tuag at Dduw a'u ffydd yn yr arglwydd Iesu Grist byPublication Date: 1889Utica, N.Y., T.J. Griffiths
Welsh Collection
Held only by Utica College (OCLC). Not in National Library of Wales Catalogue
Microfilm: MN 136.5
No free full text view located.
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge for non-profits.
Cyfansoddiad, a rheolau
- Cyfansoddiad, a rheolau : cymanfa a chyfarfod chwarterol cynulleidfaolwyr cymreig talaethau New York a Vermont.Publication Date: 18--?Utica, N.Y. : Thomas J. Griffiths, [18--?]
NOTE: Harvard Library gives Griefiths as spelling and date [19-]
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 107.3
No full text view found.
NOTE: Only other copy located: Harvard Library gives "Griefiths" as spelling of printer/publisher and date [19-]. Not at National Library of Wales.
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge for non-profits.
Cymru a'i Phobl
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 107.7
Full text view Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/cymruaiphoblcymr00jone
National Library of Wales. Notes:
"Anrheg i dderbynwyr 'Y Drych'."
A collection of articles by Alexander Jones, J. Morris Jones, J. E. Lloyd, O. M. Edwards, and others. Issued to subscribers of the periodical 'Y Drych'.
Contents: The Cymry of '76 / by Alexander Jones -- Brief history of Wales and its literature / by J. Morris Jones -- Hanes yr hen Gymry / gan J.E. Lloyd -- Cymru a'i gwroniaid / gan O.M. Edwards -- Traddodiadau dyddorol a barddoniaeth wladgorol / gan wahanol awduron.
W. H. Daniels
- D.L. Moody : ei hanes, ei waith, a'i deithiau byPublication Date: 1877-18782 vols. Utica, N.Y. : T.J. Griffiths,
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 107.9
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.hxcy4r
Translation of D.L. Moody and his work (1975) See for example: Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/miun.aga4570.0001.001
Edward Davies
- Byr--gofiant am y Parch. Llewelyn D. Howell, Utica. Wedi ei gasglu a'i gyhoeddi dros gymanfa gynulleifaol Efrog Newydd byPublication Date: 1866Utica, N.Y., T.J. Griffiths
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 108.6
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.hxdchp
Hugh Davies
- Hanes Cymanfa Dwyreinbarth Pennsylvania : 1845-1896 byPublication Date: 1898Utica, N.Y. : T.J. Griffiths
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/nyp.33433070783281
Morris Davies
- Casgliad o salmau a hymnau : at wasanaeth yr addoliad cyhoedd, ac ymarfer neillduedig ; gwedi eu detholi o waith amryw awdwyr, a'u trefnu wrth eu gwahanol fesurau ; yn cynnwys yr hyn a genir yn gyffredinol yn Nghynnulleidfaoedd y Methodistiaid Calfinaidd byPublication Date: 1846Utica [N.Y.] : E.E. Roberts
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 109.3
Full text view Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/casgliadosalmau01unkngoog
Originally published in Wales, 1832? Frequently reprinted. National Library of Wales may have the manuscript See NLW
Morris Davies Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry
William D. Davies
- Llwybrau bywyd, neu, Haner can' mlynedd o oes William D. Davies. byPublication Date: 1889Utica, N.Y. : T.J. Griffiths
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: 110.1
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.32044024079246
D. Davies
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 108.4
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.32044021091129
Robert Morris. Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry:
Davies, David( Dewi Emlyn ; 1817 - 1888. Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry:
D. Lloyd Davies
Welsh Collection
[Status unclear]
Not on microfilm
No online version located.
See https://uclibraryts.on.worldcat.org/oclc/17597344
David Davies
- Cofiant, pregethau ac anerchiadau : y parchedig David Davies byPublication Date: 1905[Utica, N.Y.?] : Argraffwyd yn Swyddfa "Y Drych"
Welsh Collection
Not on microfilm
Full text view Hathi Trust http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.32044090290222?urlappend=%3Bseq=13
Edward Davies
- Cofiant y diweddar Barch. Morris Roberts, Remsen, N.Y. byPublication Date: 1879Utica : T.J. Griffiths
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 108.5
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.hxdcc3
National Library of Wales gives author in full as Davies, E. (Edward), 1827-1905. About the author, see Eminent Welshmen: a short biographical dictionary of Welshmen in Google Books
About Morris Roberts. Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry.
Edward Davies
- Grawnwin addfed; neu, Swp o ffrwythau'r wlad, yn cynnwys pregethau gan amryw o weinidogion yr Annibynwyr yn Nghymru byPublication Date: 1867Utica, N.Y., Griffiths a Warren
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 109.1
Full text view Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/grawnwinaddfedn00davigoog
About the author, see Eminent Welshmen: a short biographical dictionary of Welshmen in Google Books
Y Dyngarwr
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN110.2
No free full text view located.
Vol. 1, issue 12, UC has only one issue. Harvard may have additional issues in vol. 1. AAS Digital Collections (EBSCO) has Issue 1 – ion 1843, Issue 4 – ebr 1843, Issue 6 – meh 1843, and Issue 12 – rha 1843.
See Waters, Huw Walters. Llyfryddiaeth cylchgronau Cymreig, 1735-1850 = A bibliography of Welsh periodicals, 1735-1850. (Aberystwyth : Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru, 1993): "[Y Dyngarwr], Welsh-American periodical; advocated freedom for the slaves and other philanthropic causes."
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge for non-profits.
John Edwards
- Y Cyfarwyddyd profedig i bob perchen anifeiliaid byISBN: John Edwards (1806-1887)Publication Date: 1849Utica : E.E. Roberts
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 110.5
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/uiug.30112070304313
John Edwards
- Llais o'r llwyn : sef barddoniaeth ar amryfal destynau, &c. byPublication Date: 1854Utica : Argraffwyd gan E.E. Roberts, dros yr awdwr
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 110.6
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/uc2.ark:/13960/t3pv6bg04
John Edwards (1806-1887) Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry
William Robert Edwards
- Cofiant Rhys Gwesyn Jones, Utica, New York byPublication Date: 1902?Utica, N.Y. : Thomas J. Griffiths
Welsh Collection
Microform: MN 111.4
No free full text view.
William Robert Edwards (Glanllafar; 1858-1921). Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry.
Rhys Gwesyn Jones. Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry.
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge for non-profits.
Sam Ellis
- Ann y Foty yn myn'd i'r mor ac ystraeon eraill byPublication Date: 1913Utica, N.Y. [Argraffwyd gan Jones Print. Co.]
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: 111.7
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.32044019893536
Beriah Gwynfe Evans
Edward C. Evans
- Cofiant a phregethau y diweddar Barchedig William Roberts, D.D., Utica, N.Y byPublication Date: 1890Utica, N.Y. : T.J. Griffiths
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 112.3
Full text view Internet Archive https://archive.org/details/cofiantaphreget00evangoog
About William Roberts (1809-1887). Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry
Robert Evans
- Dadguddiadau y Dadguddiad: neu, Yr hyn a ragfynega efengyl Iesu Grist yn ol Duw byPublication Date: 1896Utica, N.Y., Press of T.J. Griffiths
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 113.4
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.hxcy3x
Robert Evans
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: 113.5
No full text view located
Also spelled Ddiwioleg. See: Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry
Notice in "Y Cenhadwr americanaidd" vol. 35 (1874):
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge for non-profits.
Robert Evans
- Blwydd-lyfr y Cynulledifawyr yn y talaethau unedig, am 1875 byPublication Date: 1875Utica, N.Y. : T.J. Griffiths
Holding location unclear
Microfilm: MN 113.3
No free full text view located
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge for non-profits.
Cyfansoddiandau buddugol; Eisteddfod Genedlaethol
- Cyfansoddiandau buddugol; Eisteddfod Genedlaethol (65ain flyunyddol) Utica, New York, 1923-1924 byPublication Date: 1924?[Utica, N.Y.], [Gymdeithas y Cymreigyddion]
Printed at Utica Deutsch Zeitung Co. Utica N.Y.
Welsh Collection
In catalog but not located
Not microfilmed
No free full text view located
None available
Joseph Evan Davies
- Y Blwch Duwinydol : sef corff o Dduwinyddiaeth : yn cynwys sylwadau duwinyddol beirniodol, egluriadol, ac ymarferol, ar amrai bynciau athrawiaethol y Grefydd Gristionogol byPublication Date: 1871Utica, N.Y. : E.E. Roberts
Welsh Collection
UC library has vol. 3.
Not microfilmed
Vo. 3 full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/njp.32101063846248
MAY BE ON WRONG RECORD Yr Aelwyd = The hearth
- The microfilm item (MN 100.2) with similar title is from Wales not the Utica TITLE: Yr Aelwyd = The hearth byPublication Date: 1926-1934?Utica, N.Y. : Moriah Presbyterian Church
Periodial
Perhaps mistaken for similar title in cataloging which was filmed
Welsh Collection
Periodical
UC Library holdings unclear
Not microfilmed
Bi-lingual periodical may have been published 1926-1934 by the Moriah PresbyterianChurch, Utica. Harvard has a copy of 1931-33 both print and microfilm. May be under copyright.
Welsh Collections
Central New York Welsh Imprints (printed in Utica, Rome, or Remsen) are housed in Special Collections; almost all were microfilmed. Titles not readily available online but part of the UC film collection can be digitized at no cost to non-profits. Direct all inquiries to Jan Malcheski.
- Data = catalog record
- Holdings = UC Library
- Online = digitized versions
- Title Page = image
- Free = request scan
Useful Links
- Cataloge Entries with a Supplement. A wider selection of UC holdings (Sortable by author & title)
- Bibliography (pdf) detailing most of the library's Welsh holdings.(1998 Eugene Nassar)
NOTE: This bibliography includes some items NOT held at Utica College. - Publishing in the U.S. (National Library of Wales)
- Welsh Newspapers and Journals in the United States of America (Owen)
- A bibliography of Welsh Americana (1977 Blackwell)
- The Welsh in Oenida County (1914 MA thesis) with a section on printing and publishing