What is a Peer Reviewed article?
Peer reviewed articles are those found in peer reviewed or refereed journals. These journals are scholarly/academic in nature and the articles published in them go through a rigorous review process before being accepted for publication. Peer reviewed articles are often written by the person/team that actually conducted the research and performed the data analysis contained in the article. Faculty encourage students to seek out and rely on peer reviewed materials as a way of ensuring that you are finding and using quality research.
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection 1-5
The most comprehensive collection of American periodicals, documenting American life from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
The largest scholarly, multidisciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. Academic Search Premier a good place to start.
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals in a variety of academic disciplines.
Provides access to the Slavery in American and the World component of the HeinOnline database. This component of the larger database contains legal statutes, judicial cases, periodicals, and scholarly articles pertaining to the history of slavery in American and the world.
Especially strong in history and related areas, JSTOR is a scholarly, full text journal archive with an integrated search engine. JSTOR covers the core research and society publications in the humanities and social sciences. Tutorial
Oxford African American Studies Center
Oxford University Press titles. Extensive collection of historical, biographical and scholarly resources in African American and Africana studies.
Scholarly full text e-journal collection with an integrated search engine that provides access to titles in the humanities, arts and social sciences. Tutorial
GPO - Government Printing Office