Depending on the purpose of your paper you may use on-line web sources. By applying these five criteria you can decide if they are sources to use. Ask yourself the following questions:
Authority - Is the document author or site sponsor clearly identified? Does the site provide contact information for the author or sponsor?
Objectivity or clear disclosure of advocacy - Is the site's purpose clear (for example, to inform, entertain or persuade). Is the site explicit about declaring its point of view? Does the site indicate whether it is directed toward a specific audience?
Coverage - Are the topics covered by the site clear? Does the site exhibit a suitable depth and comprehensiveness for its purpose? Is sufficient evidence provides to support the ideas and options presented?
Accuracy - Are the sources of information stated? Do the facts appear to be accurate? Can you verify this information by comparing this source with other sources in the field?
Currency - Are the dates included in the website? Is the information current, or at least still relevant for the site's purpose? For you purpose?
Criteria list taken in whole from: Ramage, Bean and Johnson. The Allyn and Bacon Guide to Writing. 5th Ed. Boston: Pearson Education, Inc., 2009: 602.
The Internet is filled with an enormous quantity of information. Remember, search engines only index a small part of the world wide web. To find more results search in a variety of sources.
References and General History Websites
Association of Public Historians in New York State -- Lists of historians at town level
Cemeteries of Oneida County, New York -- Transcriptions from gravestones in 99 county cemeteries.
City Data.com: New York State -- Packed with statistics, many in graphical form, plus photos and maps, on cities, towns, and villages in New York State.
Clinton Historical Society -- Includes archival photographs, information about Clinton's history and more.
Constable Hall -- Read about the Constable family and their home, which is now a historic museum in Constableville, Lewis County, NY.
The Erie Canal -- An online tour of the history of the Erie Canal.
50 States.com: New York -- Contains lots of links to many aspects of New York State history and culture.
Fort Stanwix National Monument -- Links to educational programs, NPS Revolutionary War website, Northern Campaign events, North Country National Trail and more.
Herkimer County Historical Society -- Links to historical articles of Herkimer County; brief history of Herkimer County; town histories; National Register of Historic Places.
The History of the City of Buffalo and Erie County by H. Perry Smith (Syracuse : D. Mason & Co., 1884) -- Includes some typographical errors.
Joseph Brant: Betrayed by the Winds of Change -- A full text biography of the Mohawk Indian chief written by Jerod Rosman.
Joseph Brant (Thayendanegea), Mohawk -- Brief biography of Joseph Brant written by Tom Penick.
Kaia’tano:ron: Kateri Tekakwitha -- Web site devoted to the first Native American woman to be considered for sainthood by the Roman Catholic Church. Contains biographical information, pictures and links to other sites about this Mohawk woman who lived from 1656-1676.
The Life of Frederick William Von Steuben, Major General in the Revolutionary Army by Friedrich Kapp -- A full-text biography of the man whose tomb is in Remsen, NY.
Local History: the Electronic Collection -- The SUNY Morrisville College Library compiled this list of links to other local history web sites.
Lorenzo State Historic Site -- Tour this historic mansion built in 1808 in Cazenovia, New York.
New York Heritage -- The site provides free access to more than 160 distinct digital collections, totalling hundreds of thousands of items.
Mohawk Valley Heritage Corridor -- Established in 1994 by the New York State Legislature "to preserve, promote, and celebrate the natural, cultural and historic treasures of the Mohawk Valley".
New York History: Historical News and Views From the Empire State -- Blog edited by John Warren filled with interesting articles about NYS history.
New York History Net -- A searchable site on New York State history developed by the Institute for New York State Studies.
New York State Archives --Includes a searchable index of the NYS archives and their historic documents inventory.
New York State Canals -- Links to canal history, maps and more.
New York State Guide -- A compilation of links to New York State digital materials that are available throughout the Library of Congress Web site.
New York State Historical Association -- The Association promotes greater knowledge of the early history of New York State.
New York State Military Forts -- Searchable by time period and name; produced by the NYS Military Museum and Veterans Research Center.
New York State Museum -- Includes information on the history, exhibits, collections, programs, and ongoing research of the museum, as well as state historical markers.
Old Fort Herkimer Church -- Comprehensive site with links to 1st settlers, historic events, General Nicholas Herkimer and more.
Old Fort Johnson National Historic Site -- Web site for this historic fort located near on the Mohawk River near Amsterdam.
Oneida Community Mansion House -- Learn about this historic utopian landmark.
Oneida County Freedom Trail -- Covers the history of the underground railroad in Central New York.
Oneida County Historical Society -- Links to their library catalog and library resources and services.
Oneida Indian Nation -- Click on "Culture" for online exhibits, recipes, stories, and an audio of the Oneida language. Click on "History" for treaties and biographies of noteworthy individuals.
Oriskany Battlefield -- Read about the battle of Oriskany, in present day Oriskany, NY, where General Herkimer was fatally wounded.
Resources for Hamilton County, NY -- Includes town and village historians, a book list, links to museums, and a list of newspapers.
Steuben Memorial State Historic Site -- Picture of and brief information on the memorial where Baron Von Steuben is buried in Remsen, NY.
The Stockbridge Indians in New York 1784-1829 by Lion G. Miles: Read about how the Stockbridge Mohican Indians came to Madison County.
Upstate New York Welsh -- Provides links to statistics, maps, biographies, and historical information on the Welsh settlers.