Skip to Main Content

Physics 163 - How Things Work

Start Your Search

Use the Library Catalog & WorldCat Discovery search to begin your research. 

Your results will include books, chapters, articles, videos and more. 

Narrow your search using the limiters on the left of the screen (Held at UC, Peer Reviewed, Publication Date and more). 

Journals for PHY 163

            

American Journal of PhysicsAJP publishes articles on the educational and cultural aspects of physics that are useful, interesting, and accessible to a diverse audience of physics students, educators, and researchers.  Use the SEARCH button at the top of the page to find articles.

 

DiscoverNewsmagazine of science devoted to the wonders, mysteries and challenges of modern science, written for the educated layperson. Select the an "Access Journal" link and enter your topic in "Search Within this Publication" to search.

 

Popular Science - Presents articles on products for homes, transportation and recreation, including automobiles, boats, tools & garden, electronic, photographic equipment and television. Select an "Access Journal" link and enter your topic in "Search Within this Publication" to search.

 

The Physics TeacherPublishes peer-reviewed papers on the teaching of introductory physics and on topics such as contemporary physics, applied physics, and the history of physics. Dedicated to strengthening the teaching of introductory physics at all levels, including secondary schools colleges and universities, Use the SEARCH button at the top of the page to find articles.

Research Databases

Search these databases for your topic:

Evaluating Sources from the Internet

Author

  • Is the name of the author/creator on the page?
  • Are his/her credentials listed (occupation, years of experience, position or education)?
  • Is the author qualified to write on the given topic? Why?
  • Is there contact information, such as an email address, somewhere on the page?
  • Is there a link to a homepage?
  • If there is a link to a homepage, is it for an individual or for an organization?
  • If the author is with an organization, does it appear to support or sponsor the page?
  • What does the domain name/URL reveal about the source of the information, if anything?
  • If the owner is not identified, what can you tell about the origin of the site from the address?

Purpose

Knowing the motive behind the page's creation can help you judge its content.

  • Who is the intended audience?
    • Scholarly audience or experts?
    • General public or novices?
  • If not stated, what do you think is the purpose of the site? Is the purpose to:
    • Inform or Teach?
    • Explain or Enlighten?
    • Persuade?
    • Sell a Product?

Objectivity

  • Is the information covered fact, opinion, or propaganda?
  • Is the author's point-of-view objective and impartial?
  • Is the language free of emotion-rousing words and bias?
  • Is the author affiliated with an organization?
  • Does the author's affiliation with an institution or organization appear to bias the information?
  • Does the content of the page have the official approval of the institution, organization, or company? 

Accuracy

  • Are the sources for factual information clearly listed so that the information can be verified?
  • Is it clear who has the ultimate responsibility for the accuracy of the content of the material?
  • Can you verify any of the information in independent sources or from your own knowledge?
  • Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
  • Is the information free of grammatical, spelling, or typographical errors?

Reliability and Credibility

  • Why should anyone believe information from this site?
  • Does the information appear to be valid and well-researched, or is it unsupported by evidence?
  • Are quotes and other strong assertions backed by sources that you could check through other means?
  • What institution (company, government, university, etc.) supports this information?
  • If it is an institution, have you heard of it before? Can you find more information about it?
  • Is there a non-Web equivalent of this material that would provide a way of verifying its legitimacy?

Currency

  • If timeliness of the information is important, is it kept up-to-date?
  • Is there an indication of when the site was last updated?

Links

  • Are links related to the topic and useful to the purpose of the site?
  • Are links still current, or have they become dead ends?
  • What kinds of sources are linked?
  • Are the links evaluated or annotated in any way?
  • Note: The quality of web pages linked to the original web page may vary; therefore, you must always evaluate each web site independently.

Conclusion

  • Be very critical of any information you find on the Web and carefully examine each site.
  • Web pages are susceptible to both accidental and deliberate alteration, and may move or disappear with no notice.
  • Print out or download all pages you plan to use in your research so that your bibliography will be complete and accurate.
  • Are you sure the Web is where you want to be? It may take an hour to find the answer to a question on the Web that would take a reference librarian two minutes to find.

APA Quick Reference Guide

 

In-text Citations and References in APA 7th Edition

*Hanging indent required (not pictured here; ask librarian or instructor how to do this in Google Docs or Word)

Journal or Magazine article A reference for a journal article includes the surnames and initials of the authors ( & before the final author), the year the article was published (in parentheses), the title of the article (only the first word of the title and the first word following a colon are capitalized), the title of the journal (this should be italicized, and the first letters are all capitalized), the volume number (italics), issue number (in parentheses), and the page numbers. If there is a digital object identifier (DOI), you will need to include that link as well.

(Grant & Won, 2007)

Grant, J. E., & Won, K. S. (2007). Clinical characteristics and          psychiatric comorbidity of pyromania. Journal of Clinical Psychiatry, 68(11), 1717-1722. https://doi.org/10.4088/jcp.v68n1111

Book A reference for a book includes the surnames and initials of the authors, the year the book was published (in parentheses), the title of the book (italicized & only the first word of the title and the first word following a colon are capitalized), edition, name of the publisher, and DOI if available.

(Balderdash, 1969)

Balderdash, H. Q. (1969). Writing for meaning (2nd ed.). Perfection Press.

A Chapter in an Edited Book, Encyclopedia, or Anthology A reference for each of these includes the surnames and initials of the authors, the year the work was published (in parentheses), the title of the chapter (only the first word of the title and the first word following a colon are capitalized), the initials then surnames of the editors/anthologists followed by (Ed.) or (Eds.), title of the book (italicized & only the first word of the title and the first word following a colon are capitalized), pages of the chapter (in parentheses), name of the publisher, and DOI if available.

(Bakke et al., 2011)

 

Bakke, A. M., Glover, C., & Krogdahl, A. (2011). Feeding, digestion, and absorption of nutrients. In M. Grosell, A. P. Farrell, & C. J. Brauner (Eds.), Fish physiology: The multifunctional gut of fish. (pp. 57-75). Academic Press.

Government Agency and Other Reports Includes the specific agency responsible for the report as the author, the year the report was published (in parentheses), the title of the report (italicized, only the first word of the title and the first word following a colon are capitalized), the parent agency as publisher (if different from the authoring agency), and the direct link to the report.

(Division of Children and Family Services, 2018)

Division of Children and Family Services. (2018). CAN 2018 annual data report. Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services. http://dhhs.ne.gov/DCFS%20Data%20and%20Reports/CAN %202018%20Annual%20Data%20Report.pdf

Webpage Includes the author or name of the website providing the content, the date (if no publication date is provided, use (n.d.) to indicate “no date”), the title of the webpage (italicized), the parent website (if different from the author information). When information on the page is updated frequently and earlier versions are not retained, include a retrieval date in the reference to alert your reader that the site might have changed since you visited it. If the content has likely not changed, simply end the reference with the URL.

(U.S. Census Bureau, n.d.)

 

U.S. Census Bureau. (n.d.). U.S. and world population clock. U.S. Department of Commerce. Retrieved August 6, 2020, from https://www.census.gov/popclock/

Video Includes uploader/poster name, year, month day of upload in parentheses, use n.d. if no date, the title of the video (italicized, only the first word of the title and the first word following a colon are capitalized, followed by the format type in brackets, not italicized), the hosting website, and finally the URL

(Owlkitty, 2021)

 

Owlkitty.(2021, October 31). Jurassic Park but with a cat[Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W85oD8FEF78

     
     

 

Referencing Web Sites

From the APA & Publication Manual:

If you cite multiple webpages from a website, create a reference for each. To mention a website in general, do not create a reference list entry or an in-text citation. Instead, include the name of the website in the text and provide the URL in parentheses.

For help in determining the author of a webpage or website reference, including how the author can be inferred from context or found on an “about us” or acknowledgments page, see Example 113 below.. Provide the most specific date possible: for example, a year, month, and day; year and month; or year only. When the author name and the site name are the same, omit the site name from the source element. DO not include a retrieval date unless the content is designed to change over time.

Use the template below to construct references for webpages or websites

(Please note that the examples below do not display the double-spacing or hanging indent required in an APA 7 paper.)

110. Webpage on a news website

Avramova, N. (2019, January 3). The secret to a long, happy, healthy life? Think age-positive. CNN. https://www.cnn.com/2019/01/03/health/respect-toward-elderly-leads-to-long-life-intl/index.html

Bologna, C. (2018, June 27). What happens to your mind and body when you feel homesick? HuffPost.https://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/what-happens-mind-body-homesick_us_5b201ebde4b09d7a3d77eee1

Parenthetical citations: (Avramova, 2019; Bologna, 2018)

Narrative citations: Avramova (2019) and Bologna (2018)

  • Use this format for articles published in online news sources (e.g., BBC News, Bloomberg, CNN, HuffPost, MSNBC, Reuters, Salon, Vox). 

 

111. Webpage on a website with a group author

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (2018, January 23). People at high risk of developing flu-related complicationshttps://www.cdc.gov/flu/about/disease/high_risk.htm

World Health Organization. (2018, March). Questions and answers on immunization and vaccine safetyhttps://www.who.int/features/qa/84/en/

Parenthetical citations: (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2018; World Health Organization, 2018)

Narrative citations: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (2018) and World Health Organization (2018)

  • When the author and site name are the same, omit the site name from the source element.

 

112. Webpage on a website with an individual author

Martin Lillie, C. M. (2016, December 29). Be kind to yourself: How self-compassion can improve your resiliency. Mayo Clinic. http://www.ethicsguidebook.ac.uk/EthicsPrinciples

Parenthetical citation: (Martin Lillie, 2016)

Narrative citation: Martin Lillie (2016)

 

113. Webpage on a website with no date

Boddy, J., Neumann, T., Jennings, S., Morrow, V., Alderson, P., Rees, R., & Gibson, W. (n.d.). Ethics principles. The Research Ethics Guidebook: A Resource for Social Scientists. http://www.ethicsguidebook.ac.uk/EthicsPrinciples

National Nurses United. (n.d.). What employers should do to protect nurses from Zikahttps://www.nationalnursesunited.org/pages/what-employers-should-do-to-protect-rns-from-zika

Parenthetical citations: (Boddy et al., n.d.; National Nurses United, n.d.)

Narrative citations: Boddy et al. (n.d.) and National Nurses United (n.d.)

  • In the Boddy et al. example, the authors are listed on the acknowledgments page of the site (see Section 9.7 for more on determining the author).
  • When the author and site name are the same, omit the site name from the source element.

 

114. Webpage on a website with a retrieval date

U.S. Census Bureau. (n.d.). U.S. and world population clock. U.S. Department of Commerce. Retrieved July 3, 2019, from https://www.census.gov/popclock/

Parenthetical citation: (U.S. Census Bureau, n.d.)

Narrative citation: U.S. Census Bureau (n.d.)

  • When the author and site name are the same, omit the site name from the source element.
  • Include a retrieval date because the contents of the page are designed to change over time.