Skip to main content

History - United States

Guide to United States History Resources

Postwar United States-Early 1970s

Encyclopedia Britannica Guide to Black History - This website features 600 informative articles on Black History. The material is illustrated with historical film clips and audio recordings, as well as hundreds of photographs and other images. Eras in Black examines five centuries of black heritage through five distinct time periods, from the slave revolts of early America through the successes of the Civil Rights Movement. Each era is further divided by topic, with biographies and photographs of notable people and descriptions and documents of historic events. The Timeline of Achievements traces the yearly contributions of African-Americans in politics, industry, the arts, religion, sports, and education. The website also includes a Study Guide for Students, which is organized around six classroom activities, each with their own teacher recommendations, technical tips, and scholastic bibliographies.

Martin Luther King Jr. -  Few have had as much impact upon the American consciousness as the late civil rights leader, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. In recognition and support of his ideals of quality and fairness for all, The Seattle Times created a Web site in 1995 that celebrates this important historical figure. Since then, educators from throughout the United States and the world have used the site as a teaching tool. The site includes stories culled from The Seattle Times over the past decade, as well as archival information such as a photo gallery and audio clips of King's speeches. One of the most fascinating features of the site is its message board, which contains heartfelt tributes to King from people of all ages all over the world. The site has proven very popular, registering over 1 million page views each January and February.

The Wars for Vietnam, 1945-1975 - A site created and maintained by Vassar College that provides good overviews and factual information about this divisive American war.

Internet History Sourcebooks Project - The Internet History Sourcebooks are wonderful collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use by Paul Halsall. The site and its documents are well organized and the breadth of materials is impressive.  Includes U.S. Power, and U.S. Society.