A primary source (also called original source) is an information-bearing document, recording, artifact, or other item that was created or produced during the time under study. It is an original source and is distinguished from a secondary source, which cite, comment on, interpret, or incorporate primary source material. Examples of primary sources include original autobiographies, diaries, film footage, speeches, letters, minutes, e-mail, photographs, artwork, relics, jewelry, paintings, etc.
The Avalon Project - Made available by the Lillian Goldman Law Library at the Yale Law School, the Avalon Project is a compilation of digitalized documents in law, history, and diplomacy from Ancient to Modern times.
Documents of Diplomatic History - Various diplomatic documents online spanning the last two thousand years of Western Civilization.
East Asian Collection - Includes historical images of 20th century East Asian cultural heritage of Japan and China.
EuroDocs - This website provides links to European primary source historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Documents shed light on key historical events within the respective countries and cover political, economic, social, and cultural history in the broadest sense from Ancient to Modern time. Documents are arranged in chronological order wherever possible.
Internet Sacred Text Archive - "This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language."
Internet Archives of Texts and Documents - A creation of faculty and students in the History Department of Hanover College, The Internet Archive of Texts and Documents makes public domain primary texts and secondary sources on the Internet available to students and faculty for use in history and humanity classes. The resources for China included a section on Modern China.
The National Archives of Scotland - It is the main archive for sources of the history of Scotland as a separate kingdom, her role in the British Isles, and the links between Scotland and many other countries over the centuries.
The Online Library of Liberty -- The OLL makes available at no charge to the public outstanding resources for teaching and learning about individual liberty. The OLL contains 1,700 volumes in multiple formats which are organized by subject areas, topics, and debates.