Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RefWorks: Sharing and Collaborating

Need Help?

Have questions regarding RefWorks or need technical support?

Contact the library for help. 

Reference hours are generally:

  • Monday – Thursday: 8:00 am – 9:00 pm Eastern Time
  • Friday: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm Eastern Time
  • Sunday: 3:00 pm – 9:00 pm Eastern Time

You can also chat with a librarian anytime, 24/7, using AskUs 24/7 (see box below)

In addition, the new RefWorks Support Pages are available at any time.

Chat with a librarian on AskUs 24/7!

Sharing your Collections

RefWorks currently only allows for sharing inside your institution.  Each person you share your collection with will need a RefWorks account created prior to sharing in order to view your research .

  1. Click the Share & Export icon Share and Export icon or the Sharing menu item to start
Sharing menu
  1. Select the collection to be shared and the groups with whom you will share it.

Sharing Settings

  1. Type the email address of the person (add one at a time) and select the level of access for the person you're inviting:
    • Read – view items and read documents
    • Annotate – view items, read documents, and annotate documents
    • Modify – view/read/annotate documents, edit existing annotations, add documents, remove documents, and add a note to an item

Inviting someone to share

  1. Optionally, add a personal note
  2. Click Share Collection

The person you've invited will get an email notification, and a notification inside RefWorks, where they can accept (or reject) the invitation. If the person doesn’t have a RefWorks account, they will be asked to create one.

Remember, when you share a collection any sub-collections are also shared.

 

Viewing a collection's sharing status

To view what collections you have shared, look for the sharing icon next to the collection name.

collection showing Sharing icon

By selecting Sharing Settings from the menu, you can access the settings for your shared collection to modify them.

showing the link for Staring Settings next to collection name

In the Sharing Settings you can also:

  • change the sharing from "private" to "institution" (which gives everyone in your institution access to your collection)
  • change individual access levels at any time after inviting someone
  • remove individuals from your collection by clicking the 'x' to the right of each address in the list

Sharing Settings options