William Aubrey Powell
- Cor y plant: sef, hymnau a thonau, gwreiddiol a detholedig, wedi eu cyfansoddi a'u trefnu, yn fwyaf neillduol, at Wasanaeth Ieuenctyd Ysgolion Sabbothol Cymreig America byPublication Date: 1866Musical score.
Utica, N.Y., E.E. Roberts
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 127.1
No free full text view located. 1875 (New York) edition, see Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/coryplantwedieiy00powe
See WorldCat Identities entry: http://www.worldcat.org/identities/lccn-no2010064643/
See Library of Congress entry for sheet music: http://lcweb2.loc.gov/diglib/ihas/loc.natlib.ihas.200001269/default.html
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge to non-profits.
John Mills
- Palestina: sef, Hanes taith i ymweled ag Iuddewon Gwlad Canaan byPublication Date: 1860Rome, N.Y., R.R. Meredith
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 124.4
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.hxddb3
Richard Mills, John Mills
- Caniadau Seion : sef Casgliad o donau addas i'w canu yn yr addoliad dwyfol : yn cynwys nifer lluosog o erddyganau gwreiddiol, yn nghyda phigion o'r goreuon o waith yr awduron goraf hen a diweddar wedi eu trefnu yu unol a phriod-ddull cerddoriaeth eglwysig byPublication Date: 1847Utica : E.E. Roberts
Not in UC Catalog?
Welsh Collection
Not microfilmed
Music
No full text online view of this (1847) edition located. Internet archive has a 1853 edition. See: https://archive.org/details/caniadauseionsef00mill
Internet Archive has an 1853 edition.
D. Morgans
- Esboniad ar y datguddiad, a chymaint o lyfer Daniel a fernir sydd yn dal perthynas a'r amseroedd hyn: : mewn amryw ddarlithoedd byPublication Date: 1846Utica [N.Y.]: : Argraffwyd, a chyhoeddwyd, gan E.E. Roberts, 2 Heol Seneca
Welsh Collection
Nor microfilmed
Full text view Google Books: http://209.85.147.147/books?id=Z5gHAAAAQAAJ
Order of American True Ivorites
- Rheolau cyffredinol Urdd y Gwir Iforiaid Americanaidd. Sefydlwyd yn Plymouth, Pa., yn y Flwyddyn 1869 byPublication Date: 1892?Utica, N.Y., T.J. Griffiths
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 128.3
Library also has 1911 copy (not on microfilm). See https://uclibraryts.on.worldcat.org/oclc/17573083
No free full text view located.
Library also has 1911 item (not on microfilm). See https://uclibraryts.on.worldcat.org/oclc/17573083
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge to non-profits.
John Parry
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 125.3
No full text view located.
A catechism for children.
John Parry, Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry & see Google Books Biographical Dictionary of Welsh Preachers... (Joseph Evans)
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge to non-profits.
Daniel C. Phillips
- Gweddillion y gorlifiad : sef gweithiau barddonol y Parch. D.C. Phillips (Celyddon) byPublication Date: 1891Utica, N.Y. : T.J. Girffiths
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 126.2
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.32044018764902
Howell Powell
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 126.4
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/wu.89065914244
Howell Powell, Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry.
William Rowlands, Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry.
Pigion, o, Hymnau, &c
- Pigion, o, Hymnau, &c. : o waith amriw awdwyr, perthynol i addoliad eglwysig ä theuluaedd. byPublication Date: 1808Utica : Argraphwyd gan Ira Merrell
244 pages ; 15 cm.
Welsh Collection
See Early American Imprints (Shaw & Showmaker) No. 15949
Provenance: Library copy owned by Richard Francis
Not microfilmed for UC collection
Full text view Internet Archive (from a copy at Princeton Theological Seminary): https://archive.org/details/pigionohymnau00vand
Utica Public Library copy was used for the (inferior) digitized version available by subscription in Early American Imprints, Series II via Readex. Shaw & Shoemaker record it as No. 15949.
From a copy at Princeton Theological Seminary.
A collection of Welsh hymns (without music), Pigion o Hymnau (Utica, 1808) is notable as the first Welsh book printed in New York State and one of the earliest titles in the U.S.
The UC Library copy, very scarce, in contemporary calf, is extremely fragile but appears to be complete in 12º. Other libraries with this title: Syracuse, Cornell, Princeton Theological Seminary (supplying the copy for Internet Archive), and Utica Public (an imperfect copy for the Shaw & Shoemaker bibliography). National Library of Wales has copies. The Oneida Historical Society may also have one (not confirmed). Princeton credits to Francis Adrian Van der Kemp (1752-1829) for collecting the hymns for publication, whereas OCLC records do so for a Mary Davis (identity uncertain).
Pigion o Hymnau was published by Ira Merrell, a well known printer in the area. He emigrated from Wales in 1798. See Google Books. This was possibly his only publication in Welsh.
The sole signature in the UC copy is by a Richard Francis who can be identified as Richard Francis who emigrated from Wales in 1797 (The Cambrian, v.17, Jan. 1897); see p. 344 in a Google Books version. It is unclear why the UC copy was not part of the microfilming project (1989-90); it may have been a later acquisition.
Note: Microfilm/electronic records for Pigion o Hymnau in OCLC have a title transcription error, Hymnan is given instead of the correct Hymnau.
Y Pregethwr ar̕ esboniwr
- Y Pregethwr ar̕ esboniwr, sef casgliad o bregethau gwreiddiol a detholedig, gan bregethwyr o wahanol enwadau, cartrefol a thramor.Publication Date: Vol. 1 (1881)Published by Thomas R. Jones.
Utica, N.Y., T.J. Griffiths
Welsh Collection
Periodical, 1881
Microfilm: MN 127.2
1881-1887, see National Library of Wales catalogue record.
[Eisteddfod] Rhaglen swyddogol
- Rhaglen swyddogol. Eisteddfod, Utica, NYPublication Date: [18--?]May be 1877-78? Utica eisteddfod official program
[Utica, N.Y.] [18--]-
Welsh Collection (holdings unclear)
Microfilm: MN 111.6
No full text view located
UC holdings unclear. May be unique. Date may be 1877-78 (from Nassar, Welsh Imprints)
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge to non-profits.
John J. Roberts
- Cofiant llythyrau, areithiau, a phregethau y Parch. Robert Williams, La Crosse, Wisconsin byPublication Date: 1881Utica, N.Y. : T.J. Griffiths,
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 129.4
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.hxddlf
Joseph Roberts
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 130.1
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.hxcmza
Joseph Roberts
- Cofiant a phregethau y Parch. Humphrey P. Howell, D.D., Columbus, Ohio byPublication Date: 1901Utica, N.Y. : [T.J. Griffiths]
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 129.5
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/wu.89067334953
J. C. Roberts
- Hanes Cymdeithas Elusengar Utica a'r Cylchoedd, o'i sefydliad yn 1849 hyd Ionawr 1, 1882 byPublication Date: 1882Utica, N.Y., E.H. Roberts
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 129.2
No free full text view located.
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge to non-profits.
Mynyddog (Richard Davies)
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 109.4
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/wu.89070867114
Mynyddog. (Richard Davies) Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry
David Owen
- Eliasia; neu rai sylwadau ar gymeriad areithyddol a phregethwriaethol y diweddar Barchedig John Elias byPublication Date: 1846Utica [N.Y.] E.E. Roberts
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 124.7
Full text view Google Books (British Library copy): https://books.google.com/books?id=XVJiAAAAcAAJ&pg=PA1&dq=Eliasia;+neu+rai+sylwadau&hl=en&sa=X&ei=14iVVdrXI4W2-QGYsYu4Dg&ved=0CB4Q6AEwAA#v=onepage&q=Eliasia%3B%20neu%20rai%20sylwadau&f=false
About the author: See https://cy.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Owen_(Brutus)
About the subject, John Elias (1774-1841), see Google Books: Dictionary of National Biography entry & Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry
Samuel Roberts
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 130.4
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.hxcn1i
Owen C. Roberts
- Odlau, parerin; sef, darnau barddonol ar wahanol destynau byPublication Date: 1883Utica, N.Y., T.J. Griffiths, argraffydd
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 130.2
No free full text view located.
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge to non-profits.
Samuel Roberts
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 131.1
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.32044074344961
William Rees
- Cofiant y diweddar Barch. Wm. Williams o'r Wern; yn cynwys byr-grynhodeb o hanes ei fywyd, ei nodwedd, ei lafur a'i lwyddiant gweinidogaethol, ei farwolaeth; rhai o'i bregethau a'i ddywediadau; barddoniaeth, &c. byPublication Date: 1844Remsen [N.Y.] J.R. & R. Everett
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 128.1
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.hxcyhe
William Rees (1802-1883?), Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry
William Williams (1781-1840), Dictionary of Welsh Biography entry
Rheolau dysgyblaethol
- Rheolau dysgyblaethol, cyfansoddiad, a chyffes ffydd, y corff o fethodistiaid calfinaidd Cymreig. A gytunwyd arnynt yn ngymdeithasfaoedd Aberystwyth a Bala, yn y flwyddyn 1823Publication Date: 1857Rome, N.Y., R.R. Meredith
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 128.4
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.hxdd9v
See also, Dinbych 1850 edition: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.hxdepr
William Rowlands (1807-1866)
- Casgliad, o, Salmau a hymnau : cyhoeddedig ar ddymuniad cymdeithasfaoedd y Methodistiaid Calfinaidd, yn yr amrywiol dalaethau Americanaidd byPublication Date: 1863Utica, [N.Y.] : T. J. Griffiths, Argraffydd, Genesee St.
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 131.4
See also 1855 edition (not filmed?): http://uclibraryts.worldcat.org/oclc/17593939
No free full text view located.
See 1855 edition with variant title. UC Catalog and Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/hvd.hxdepb
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge to non-profits.
William Rowlands (1807-1866)
- Hanes, cyfansoddiad, rheolau dysgyblaethol, yn nghyda chyffes ffydd, y corph o Fethodistiaid Calfinaidd yn nghymru : a gytunwyd arnynt yn nghymdeithasfaoedd Aberystwyth a'r bala, yn y flwyddyn MDCCCXXIII byPublication Date: 1842Defective, missing title page.
Utica [N.Y.] : William Rowlands
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 132.2
No free full text view located
William Rowlands (1807-1866)
- Dammeg y Mab Afradlon, yn ei chymhwysiad at Ddyn, yn ei gyflwr cyntefig o burdeb a dedwyddwch; ei gyflwr syrthiedig o bechod a thrueni, a'i gyflwr adferedig o ras a gogoniant; yn nghyda rhagdraethawd ar Ddammegion yr Arglwydd Iesu yn Gyffredinol: (mewn cy byPublication Date: 1860Rome, N.Y., Argraffwyd gan R.R. Meredith
(In catalog incorrectly attributed to William Rowlands, 1802-1865)?
Welsh Collection
In UC Catalog attributed to William Rowlands (1802-1865), UC also holds a copy with the pseudonym
Microfilm: MN 132.1
No free full text located.
William Spurrell
- Geiriadur cymraeg a seisoneg = A dictionary of the Welsh language: with the English synonymes and explanations byPublication Date: 1864Utica, N.Y. : J. James Jones
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 132.5
Many editions, printings; see for example Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/nnc1.cu58913300
See Spurrell entry: Dictionary of Welsh Biography
Harriet Beecher Stowe
- Caban f' Ewythr Twm; neu, Fywyd yn mhlith yr Iselradd ... Gyda Naw-ar-hugain o Gerfluniau. Cyfieithiad Hugh Williams ... A adolygwyd ac a ddiwygiwyd gan Robert Everett byPublication Date: 1854Remsen, N.Y., Argraffwyd gan J.R. Everett
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN: 133.3
Library also has London 1853 Welsh translation: http://uclibraryts.worldcat.org/oclc/4450536
Full text view Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/nyp.33433075838262
See also (not owned by UC) 1853 Abertawy [Swansea] edition; Hathi Trust: http://hdl.handle.net/2027/nyp.33433076063225?urlappend=%3Bseq=7
Y Seren Orllewinol
- Seren orllewinol, neu, Gyfrwng gwybodaeth i hil Gomer yn AmericaPeriodical. Library has vols 2 and 3. Utica : Cymanfa o Fedyddwyr
Welsh Collection
Vols. 2 and 3
Microfilm: MN 132.4
For full text view of later volumes, see Hathi Trust for title
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge to non-profits.
Richard Whately
- Llusern y ffydd : Profion Cristionogaeth, sef cyfieithiad o lyfr archesgob Whately: gan y parch J. Isaac Hughes, Holland Patent, N.Y. byPublication Date: 19--[Utica, N.Y.] : [Press of T.J. Griffiths]
Welsh Collection
Microfilm: MN 138.2
No free full text view located.
Contact Jan Malcheski. We can provide scan of entire item at no charge to non-profits.